Rumi

Be crumbled.
So wild flowers will come up where you are.
You have been stony for too many years.
Try something different.
Surrender.
—Rumi

At first I thought I would only need to surrender during labour. But the more my children grow, the more I realise that was only the start. In this new life, there are so many ways I need to learn to surrender, whether it is the constancy of being available to your children, or to the wee and poo of toilet training.

If motherhood has brought a sense of ruin to the order of my life and the person I thought I might be, there is beauty to be found in the crumbling. A new space is opened for growth and transformation. I feel the wildflowers pushing up their delicate heads.

Leave a Reply

